An iconic image for any old Deaconians who attended the school’s sixth form in the late 1970s.
After the thaw of 12″ of snow, much of Peterborough was under water in early 1939 as this scene on Garton End Road shows.
Ironically, the water had re-established itself on the site of what was formerly a natural pond that had been filled in recently.
Today this would be at the junction of Pyecroft (left) and Garton End Road.
A corner shop existed on this site well back into the 1800s but was known locally as Scott’s Corner from 1954 to 1975 after it’s owner Norman Scott.
The shop is still trading today but definitely lacking in the corner shop charm department !
An almost rural scene in the original image as the roadworks constitute a single guy with a pick-axe …… not a cone in sight !
Very little to identify the image today other than perhaps the decaying brick wall on the far left.
On the right of the photo is the old Comet Inn that was demolished in 1924 to make way for the current building and on the left is the Primitive Methodist Chapel, built in 1866 and demolished in the late 1930s to enable Newark Avenue to be widened.