Home Cathedral Cathedral modifications (1883)

Cathedral modifications (1883)

875

A fascinating illustration from The Illustrated London News of 27th January 1883 showing modifications to the cathedral’s central tower.

1883 saw extensive restoration work start on the cathedral, with the interior pillars, the choir and the west front being completely rebuilt under the supervision of John Loughborough Pearson, and new hand-carved choir stalls, cathedra (bishop’s throne), choir pulpit and the marble pavement and high altar being added. A stepped level of battlements was removed from the central tower, reducing its height slightly.